Brown Sugar Cookies

So this last week has a been a bit of a whirlwind. I’ve been working hard on figuring out what to do with the rest of my life and am considering some new options, including hotel work and event planning. In addition, I got a job! I finally decided to go for it and jump into the restaurant industry. I will be starting as a runner at Mikette, a French restaurant in Ann Arbor. I’m very excited for the new adventure and possibilities to come!

Somehow, in the midst of all of that, I still managed to bake some cookies. They were very simple, but I did chill the dough overnight (or that was what I had intended). I actually left it for two days, since I ended up getting a job on the day that I had intended to bake them. A little higher priority item.

On Tuesday, I prepared my cookie dough. First, I mixed together the dry ingredients: flour, baking soda, cornstarch, cinnamon, and salt.

DryIngredients

Then, I melted the butter and added the brown sugar.

ButterSugar

I whisked it up until there were no lumps.

ButterSugarMixed

Then, I added the eggs…

WEggs

…and the vanilla.

WVanilla

I mixed it all up…

WetMixed

…and added it to the dry ingredients.

WetInDry

Then, I mixed it into a cookie dough.

Dough

I covered this tightly before placing it in the refrigerator.

Covered

As I mentioned, it actually ended up sitting in the refrigerator for two days, but I would have rather had it in there for only one. However, I think getting a job was more important. On Thursday, I took it out and poured some sugar in a separate bowl.

DoughSugar

I rolled the dough into small (about 1-1.5″ in diameter) balls and rolled them in sugar. The dough was cold and a bit tough to work with, but I managed. I also kept the dough in the refrigerator between batches. I placed them on my silpat liner on my baking sheet.

BeforeBaking

I baked the first batch for 9 minutes at 325 degrees F, but found that the following batches only needed 8 minutes (probably due to the heated baking sheet). They were just barely beginning to brown on the bottoms.

AfterBaking

I allowed them to cool for 5 minutes on the baking sheet before removing them to the cooling rack.

AfterCooling5Min

Done4

These ones were good! Nice and chewy with a delicious brown sugar flavor. Definitely my kind of cookie! Now, they were a little thin and I would like to fix that in future batches, but no complaints otherwise.

 

Brown Sugar Cookies

(Adapted from Sally’s Baking Addiction)

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons cornstarch
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 1/4 cups packed light brown sugar (or could use dark)
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar (or as needed for rolling)

Instructions

  1. In large bowl, mix flour, baking soda, cornstarch, cinnamon, and salt.
  2. In medium bowl, whisk together melted butter and brown sugar until no lumps remain. Whisk in egg, then vanilla extract.
  3. Mix butter mixture into flour mixture until dough forms.
  4. Cover tightly or wrap in plastic wrap and chill at least 2 hours, up to 2 days.
  5. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.
  6. Roll dough into 1-1.5″ balls, then roll in granulated sugar. Place on baking sheet lined with silicone liner or parchment paper, leaving plenty of space between them.
  7. Bake for 8-9 minutes, or until just beginning to brown on bottom.
  8. Remove from oven and allow to cool on baking sheet 5-7 minutes.
  9. Place on wire rack to cool completely.

Leave a comment