Life’s Twists and Turns

I started this blog almost a year ago now. Unhappy with my choice of career, I had recently left physics graduate school to pursue… well… I had no idea! My previous life plan was no more and I had no new plan. So, I moved to a new place, took life as it came, and hoped that I would figure something out. I had no idea what that something would be.

Not having a plan for your life is hard. Really hard. Especially for me. I love planning! I feel lost without a plan. I have always been the type to come up with a very detailed life plan, work hard at it, and see it through. I spent my time in college, high school, and even earlier planning out the next step and ensuring that I aced my classes, participated in extracurriculars, and got the experience I needed to make that next step a reality. But, there came a time when I had to stop and think about whether or not that next step was right for me. When I found myself hating physics grad school, I realized the “next step” wasn’t where I wanted to go.

This last year has been one of many surprises, struggles, and new experiences. (Not gonna lie… there were a LOT of struggles.) I have learned a lot about myself, who I am, and who I am not. I have done probably too much introspection, usually driving myself crazy and finding that I was unable to figure anything out.

After nearly a year of uncertainty, worries, panic, plenty of ups and downs, and so many more emotions, I had to do something. I was going crazy.

My solution, it turned out, was in the thing that has kept me going throughout this year. This baking blog has led to so much more than just some delicious treats. It has kept me (relatively) sane, given me goals, and kept me going. I have enjoyed baking (and cooking, for that matter) more than I ever thought I would. It has really turned into a passion.

That is why, today, I registered for the Baking & Pastry Arts program at Washtenaw Community College. I decided to go for it with something I love. I have spent too long looking toward the next step without regard for my own enjoyment of the current one. Now, I’m going to do something for me and see where it leads.

If I had told myself 3 years ago that I would be doing this today, I would have laughed so hard. It sounds cliche, but I think there’s something to the idea that sometimes life just doesn’t go as planned. Even for me… someone who just loves planning! I hope this was the right choice, and I hope it leads somewhere great. But, I’m very excited to see what’s to come. And I’m very excited to see what I can do as a baker!

One thought on “Life’s Twists and Turns

Leave a comment